Research Databases

These high quality resources are available to you free of charge thanks to your local, regional, and state libraries.

To access from outside of the library, you will need to enter your library card number, without spaces or punctuation. For more information, please see our Digital Library brochure.

To download eBooks, audiobooks, movies, and more, visit the eLibrary.

If you have questions about or problems with any of the Digital Library resources, please let us know.

Jump to a Category:

Online Classes, Test Prep, and Career Prep

Adult Learning Center
Designed to support adult learners and job seekers with services that include GED prep, 24/7 Writing Lab, Live Tutoring, Skills Building, Career Resources, U.S. Citizenship Prep, Microsoft Office Essential Skills Series, and 24/7 Question Center.

Gale Courses
Hundreds of instructor-led online courses covering everything from health and wellness to creative writing, computer programming, GED test preparation and much more. Courses run 6 weeks with two lessons released each week.

Rosetta Stone
Interactive online language learning program designed to build reading, writing, speaking, and listening skills. Over 30 languages available. If you are prompted for your patron ID please enter your 14-digit library card number. If you want to use the Rosetta Stone Mobile App, please see these instructions.

Testing and Education Reference Center
Online practice tests, entrance exams, and test prep ebooks, including SAT, GRE, PRAXIS, and more. Also has college and career searches.

(back to the top)

DIY Guides & Hobbies

Auto Repair Reference Center
Information on repair procedures, service bulletins, service recalls, wiring diagrams, labor and quick tips for automobiles produced since 1954.

Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center
Instructions and creative ideas from leading hobby & craft magazines to meet the interests of all hobby enthusiasts. Topics include arts & crafts, collecting, home & garden, needlecrafts, outdoor recreation, performing arts, science & technology, and scrapbooking.

Home Improvement Reference Center
Detailed "how-to" information with images for a wide variety of home improvement and repair projects. Topics include decorating, electrical & wiring, home maintenance, landscaping, plumbing, remodeling, and woodworking.

Small Engine Repair Reference Center
Detailed user-friendly repair guides for a wide variety of small engines, including ATVs, motorcycles, mowers, tractors, marine/boat engines, and other small engines. Search by product type, brand, model or engine type, or model numbers. Guides can be downloaded or printed.

(back to the top)

Genealogy & Family History

Ancestry Plus
A source for conducting genealogical and local history research. Contains census records, vital records, directories, and other genealogy resources. (Can only be used inside the library.)

Genealogy Connect
Hundreds of unique family history sources, as well as guidance and tips on the research process.

Heritage Quest Online
Census records, Freedman's Bank records, unique primary sources, local & family histories, and more.

(back to the top)

Reading Recommendations

Beanstack
Curated book recommendations for readers ages 0-8, emailed weekly.

NoveList Plus
Book recommendations for all ages based on personal reading style and interests. Includes book reviews, lists, read-alikes, and book group discussion tools.

(back to the top)

Local Newspapers

Easton Star Democrat
Online archives from November 16, 2005 to the present.

Kent County News
Online archives from November 30, 2006 to the present.

(back to the top)

General Information & Research

Explora
Explora is a unified search interface for many EBSCO databases, including Biography Reference Center, Funk & Wagnalls Encyclopedia, History Reference Center, Literary Reference Center, MasterFILE Periodicals, MAS Ultra, and Science Reference Center.

Explora Educator
Explora Educator provides a single search interface for several teacher resources: ERIC, an online library of education research & information; Professional Development Collection, containing journal articles and reports for educators and librarians; and Teacher Reference Center, which has abstracts from over 200 education-related journals; and national Curriculum Standards.

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
An updated 17-volume edition of the classic reference work on animals.

Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
Easy-to-understand information on countries and dependencies from around the world.

Worldmark Encyclopedia of the States
Geographical, social, and political data; historical narratives; and statistical information on the 50 states, District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and Caribbean and Pacific dependencies of the United States.

(back to the top)

Business News & Research

EBSCO Business
Articles from 2,200+ business journals, regional U.S. and Canadian Business publication, and MarketLine company profiles. Contains both the Business Source Premier database and the Regional Business News database.

Reference USA
Information on millions of businesses and consumers in an easy to search format.

(back to the top)

For Kids

Beanstack
Curated book recommendations for readers ages 0-8, emailed weekly.

BookFlix
Pairs classic video storybooks with related nonfiction ebooks.

Brainfuse
Live homework help & tutors, skills building, writing lab, test prep, and foreign language lab. Tutors are available Monday through Sunday, 2-11 PM.

Explora Junior
Articles and stories from popular magazines for elementary and middle school students, as well as encyclopedia and dictionary entries.

TrueFlix
Nonfiction ebooks paired with streaming video designed to help students master Science and Social Studies.

TumbleBooks
Interactive, animated books, as well as games, puzzles, and National Geographic video shorts.

(back to the top)


Chestertown Branch
408 High Street
Chestertown, MD 21620
410.778.3636

North County Branch
111-B1 N. Main Street
Galena, MD 21635
410.648.5380

Rock Hall Branch
5585 Main Street
Rock Hall, MD 21661
410.639.7162